Australia Awards Scholarships for Africans

Australia Awards Scholarships is an assistance program for Africa which provide access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries. It enables Africans to develop themselves and to contribute actively to development in their home countries on their return.

Scholarship Summary
|Level: Postgraduate, Masters, |Institution(s): Universities in Australia
|Location: Australia, |Field(s): Any
|Target: Africans |Deadline(s): Usually November – December

The scholarship offers benefits which generally cover full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, living expenses, Health Cover,  etc.

The scholarships can be taken at Participating Australian higher education institutions and technical colleges and must be applied towards selected fields. This varies by country, however, some examples include: Agriculture and Food Security; Health; Natural Resource Management including Mining and Mining Governance; Public Policy; and Water and Sanitation.

The African countries targeted include: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, and Zambia


To be eligible for the Australia Awards Scholarships, you must:

  • be a citizen of any of the countries listed above.
  • be applying to pursue a full-time residential masters program in Australia
  • be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • have at least three (3) years’ relevant post graduate work experience.
  • possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognized Institution of at least 4 years in length.
  • not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • meet the country specific eligibility criteria and the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships.

Note that If you have already started a course at Cambridge University, you cannot apply for a Gates Cambridge Scholarship to fund the remainder of it.

How to Apply for the Australia Awards Scholarships

Application forms must be requested online at

Click on apply to get your country specific information. Select your country, check eligibility and choose the program/course to study. Fill in your details and submit the request form online. You will be sent the application form via email. Save it to your computer and fill it. Attach all supporting documents, check for completeness and accuracy, and send it via email by 15 December for masters program OR 15 January for short courses (for 2016 applications)

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For detailed information on how to apply, visit the Official Website.


Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply