Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are awarded to students from developing Commonwealth countries. It offers opportunities for awardees to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their respective countries. Selection is made based on academic merit and the potential impact of awardees to their home countries.

Scholarship Summary  
|Level: PostgraduateMasters |Institution(s): Any, UK
|Location: UK, |Field(s): Any
|Target: All |Deadline(s): 12 May, 2017

The Scholarship was established in 2002 by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and UK Department For International Development (DFID). It shows their commitment to providing education to the citizens of the developing Commonwealth countries and strengthening the relationship between the two bodies.

The CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates for them. Over its lifespan, the body has funded courses in over 20 UK universities, awarding over 1000 scholarships to students of the Commonwealth countries.


Candidates looking to apply for this scholarship must:

  • Be a citizen of one of the developing Commonwealth countries (detailed below), refugee, or British protected person; and
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country; and
  • Hold a first degree of at least Second class upper (2:1) grade. Lower qualification with sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  • hold an offer to start their chosen course of study in the 2017-2018 academic year
  • Submit their application to the CSC together with at least one reference.

Citizens of Commonwealth Developing Countries:

  • AFRICA: Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Papua New Guinea, , Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania
  • OTHER COUNTRIES: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Maldives, Montserrat, Nauru, Pakistan, , Pitcairn, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships cannot be held concurrently for more than one course.  Selected candidates must be resident in a developing Commonwealth country and must not undertake study towards any other qualification for the duration of their award.

How to apply for the Distance Learning Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

To apply, candidates would have to check and be sure that the desired course they are looking to study is featured in the 2017 list of eligible courses and universities for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships. Full details of these courses and the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.

Candidates must make their application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). See full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides. Before applying, candidates must check with their UK universities for specific advice and rules for applying. You will be required to complete a university application form in addition to your EAS application form.

It is important to read the 2017 full terms and conditions (pdf), and also visit the official website for complete information on the application procedure for this scholarship.

Note the CSC may require candidates to undertake the academic IELTS English language test as a condition of eligibility. Candidates should check with the UK institutions to see whether this requirement applies to them. 

All inquiries about these scholarships should be directed to the university to which you wish to apply.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply