Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australia Awards scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Scholarship Summary  
|Level: Undergraduate, Postgraduate (Masters, PhD) |Institution(s): Partner Institutions
|Location:  Australia |Field(s): All
|Target: All |Deadline(s): 30 April, 2017

The Australia Awards are for undergraduate or postgraduate programmes that are related to the candidate’s country priority areas for development. Only study fields which are listed on the participating country profiles are eligible. Kindly visit the Participating Australian Institutions to confirm your programme of study. The Australia Awards are not available for training in areas related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology or military training.

The award benefits include full tuition fees, establishment allowance, return air travel, Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), contribution to living expenses (CLE), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, Introductory Academic Program (IAP), among others. The full lists of benefit can be found on the scholarship announcement page.

The Australia Awards scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program as specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. The awards are open to citizens of the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. Kindly review the complete list of participating countries before applying.


To be eligible to receive an Australia Awards scholarship, applicants must:

  • be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Scholarship
  • be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship
  • have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector)
  • be able to satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken
  • not be applying for another long‐term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection to hold a Student Visa
  • not be married, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilisation phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa (subclass 500) and not be current serving military personnel
  • not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently
  • Applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Please read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

How to apply for the Australia Awards Scholarships

To apply for the Australia Awards, first check the open and close dates for your country, and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply. Deadline varies per country. The deadline for most countries is 30 April 2017 except for Kiribati (March 7), Laos (March 24), Papua New Guinea (February 28).

You can visit the scholarship announcement page for further information on the Australia Awards.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply